Post by Degsey » Sun Sep 11, 2011 10:27 am

okmarket wrote:Hi Degsey,

I am sorry, I am not familiar with vqmod, so would you like to pls give me modification instruction by opencart 1.5.1? thank you again.
Ok getting to grips with VQMod is essential if you want to run opencart and implement all of the contributions on offer here.

You can download VQMod and read about it here
http://forum.opencart.com/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=24529

Also I use VQMod Manager with it which you can get here
http://www.opencart.com/index.php?route ... order=DESC

Live Long and Prosper!

Degsey :-]

Visit us at :

http://www.Supreme-Ink.com


User avatar
New member

Posts

Joined
Sun Jun 12, 2011 2:29 am
Location - North Carolina

Post by okmarket » Mon Sep 12, 2011 9:37 am

Hi Degsey,

thank you for your help.

and I install it and test it. it's ok.

but for no refine search product, i think no need indicate refine search out line , like att'd picture.

so how can improve that? thank you.

Attachments

未命名.JPG

未命名.JPG (19.67 KiB) Viewed 2875 times


China Wholesaler
http://www.okmarket.com
Image

David Wei


User avatar
New member

Posts

Joined
Sat Jul 09, 2011 11:47 pm
Location - Guangzhou,China

Post by Degsey » Mon Sep 12, 2011 9:52 am

You can just edit catalog/language/english/product/category.php

Find

Code: Select all

$_['text_refine']       = 'Refine Search';
and replace with

Code: Select all

$_['text_refine']       = '';
That will make that line disappear.

Happy coding.

Live Long and Prosper!

Degsey :-]

Visit us at :

http://www.Supreme-Ink.com


User avatar
New member

Posts

Joined
Sun Jun 12, 2011 2:29 am
Location - North Carolina

Post by okmarket » Mon Sep 12, 2011 4:51 pm

still show it, and just no refine search wording.

China Wholesaler
http://www.okmarket.com
Image

David Wei


User avatar
New member

Posts

Joined
Sat Jul 09, 2011 11:47 pm
Location - Guangzhou,China

Post by Ozfarmer » Tue Sep 13, 2011 2:43 pm

That works beautifully!! now it will be perfect if somone can let me know how to stop the Parent category images from carrying over to the sub categorys? ;) (that's the white drum in the top left corner) anyone help with this?

Paul

Attachments

top image.JPG

top image.JPG (24.28 KiB) Viewed 2860 times


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:08 pm
Location - Australia

Post by grgr » Tue Sep 13, 2011 3:06 pm

Ozfarmer wrote:That works beautifully!! now it will be perfect if somone can let me know how to stop the Parent category images from carrying over to the sub categorys? ;) (that's the white drum in the top left corner) anyone help with this?

Paul
They shouldn't carry over, you can set these for all indiviual categories and if you don't set a picture for a category, one shouldn't be displayed.

Edit the category and delete the picture.

Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Mar 28, 2011 4:08 pm
Location - UK

Post by grgr » Tue Sep 13, 2011 3:43 pm

okmarket wrote:Hi Degsey,

thank you for your help.

and I install it and test it. it's ok.

but for no refine search product, i think no need indicate refine search out line , like att'd picture.

so how can improve that? thank you.
It's because the if statement was removed from the section that alters the template, try this one (Don't forget to change the path to your template):

Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Mar 28, 2011 4:08 pm
Location - UK

Post by Ozfarmer » Tue Sep 13, 2011 4:19 pm

grgr wrote:
Ozfarmer wrote:That works beautifully!! now it will be perfect if somone can let me know how to stop the Parent category images from carrying over to the sub categorys? ;) (that's the white drum in the top left corner) anyone help with this?

Paul
They shouldn't carry over, you can set these for all indiviual categories and if you don't set a picture for a category, one shouldn't be displayed.

Edit the category and delete the picture.
Might not have explained myself very well, I want every category to have a picture, and they do.. but the category image that's above the subcategory comes over into the sub categories. see attached. Sure deleting the Parent images would be a quick fix, but then I would have no images on these categories....Example. Click on "Food Preserving" and the white drum comes over to the subcategory, then in that category click on bottling then the Alum pot comes over to the next category.. make sense? ... still might not explained myself very well ;D

Attachments

A1.JPG

A1.JPG (21.07 KiB) Viewed 2848 times

A2.JPG

A2.JPG (23.43 KiB) Viewed 2848 times

A3.JPG

A3.JPG (27.15 KiB) Viewed 2848 times


Active Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:08 pm
Location - Australia

Post by okmarket » Tue Sep 13, 2011 5:57 pm

thank you

good job.

China Wholesaler
http://www.okmarket.com
Image

David Wei


User avatar
New member

Posts

Joined
Sat Jul 09, 2011 11:47 pm
Location - Guangzhou,China

Post by grgr » Tue Sep 13, 2011 8:18 pm

Ozfarmer wrote:
grgr wrote:
Ozfarmer wrote:That works beautifully!! now it will be perfect if somone can let me know how to stop the Parent category images from carrying over to the sub categorys? ;) (that's the white drum in the top left corner) anyone help with this?

Paul
They shouldn't carry over, you can set these for all indiviual categories and if you don't set a picture for a category, one shouldn't be displayed.

Edit the category and delete the picture.
Might not have explained myself very well, I want every category to have a picture, and they do.. but the category image that's above the subcategory comes over into the sub categories. see attached. Sure deleting the Parent images would be a quick fix, but then I would have no images on these categories....Example. Click on "Food Preserving" and the white drum comes over to the subcategory, then in that category click on bottling then the Alum pot comes over to the next category.. make sense? ... still might not explained myself very well ;D

Well, of course it does!

On your home page it shows a picture for the 'food preserving' category. That picture IS the food preserving category picture.

When you are in the 'food preserving' category, then that same picture shows as you are now looking at the 'food preserving' category.

The same is true of the text under the picture. On your home page the text reads 'food preserving' - obviously as that is the category name. Click on it and you are in the 'food preserving' category and the category name at the top of the page is 'food preserving' - obviously as this is the category you are in. In the same way that the actual name carries across (you wouldn't want to rename the 'food preserving' category to something else when someone clicks on it), the same goes for the image.

What you seem to be wanting is to have multiple category images which I don't think is ever going to happen.

More to the point, the picture is a visual reference to the category that you are in and this makes it easier for people to see where in the shop they are without having to read or think. I don't think that this is something that you should be worrying yourself with but rather concentrate on adding the category descriptions.

Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Mar 28, 2011 4:08 pm
Location - UK

Post by Ozfarmer » Wed Sep 14, 2011 5:22 pm

HaHaHA!! LoL Grrrrrrr Yes I am onto the category descriptions and today have redesigned the category structure. ;D

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:08 pm
Location - Australia

Post by okmarket » Wed Sep 14, 2011 5:49 pm

Hi Degsey,

it's really good module for your refine search parts. and I installed vqmod and put your xml file to vqmod, it's very good at localhost. but after install it at my web hosting, so it's failure. so i have to move down of vqmod. I am sorry for trouble with you again. would you like to tell me how to modify code to get your refine search base on your two file. thank you.

according to your xml file, i modify the code, but it's not ok.

so hope can get your instruction again.

good day

China Wholesaler
http://www.okmarket.com
Image

David Wei


User avatar
New member

Posts

Joined
Sat Jul 09, 2011 11:47 pm
Location - Guangzhou,China

Post by Degsey » Wed Sep 14, 2011 11:35 pm

David

There is a new redesign of VQMod which is V2 and is imminent in its release, I would wait a short while and and use that it should make things a lot better.

Live Long and Prosper!

Degsey :-]

Visit us at :

http://www.Supreme-Ink.com


User avatar
New member

Posts

Joined
Sun Jun 12, 2011 2:29 am
Location - North Carolina

Post by okmarket » Thu Sep 15, 2011 12:39 am

thank you.

but would you like to tell me how can i modify the code by myself? thank you.

China Wholesaler
http://www.okmarket.com
Image

David Wei


User avatar
New member

Posts

Joined
Sat Jul 09, 2011 11:47 pm
Location - Guangzhou,China

Post by kyprios1 » Fri Sep 16, 2011 1:23 am

Is there a way to show the list of all products belonging to the subcategories, above or below the Refine Search module?

New member

Posts

Joined
Mon Jan 31, 2011 9:56 am

Post by Degsey » Sat Sep 17, 2011 10:54 am

okmarket wrote:thank you.

but would you like to tell me how can i modify the code by myself? thank you.
David

Your solution is here :-

http://forum.opencart.com/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=36966

Live Long and Prosper!

Degsey :-]

Visit us at :

http://www.Supreme-Ink.com


User avatar
New member

Posts

Joined
Sun Jun 12, 2011 2:29 am
Location - North Carolina

Post by keether » Mon Sep 19, 2011 6:10 am

I would like to make sub category images a different size than category images ? Does anyone know how to do this ?

New member

Posts

Joined
Sat Sep 18, 2010 9:13 am

Post by webfeetdesign » Tue Sep 27, 2011 5:30 pm

Can you explain this process please. Where do I put the subcat_images2.xml file? Do I even put it anywhere? Never used a VQmod before. I'm really trying to get my sub categories to display as thumbnails instead of a bullet list.

Many Thanks

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Feb 05, 2010 1:28 am
Location - Dubai

Post by grgr » Tue Sep 27, 2011 7:28 pm

webfeetdesign wrote:Can you explain this process please. Where do I put the subcat_images2.xml file? Do I even put it anywhere? Never used a VQmod before. I'm really trying to get my sub categories to display as thumbnails instead of a bullet list.

Many Thanks
http://code.google.com/p/vqmod/

Download the open cart one, install.

put xml file into the xml folder - job done!

Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Mar 28, 2011 4:08 pm
Location - UK

Post by webfeetdesign » Tue Sep 27, 2011 8:30 pm

Thats great, really appreciate your help. All done!

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Fri Feb 05, 2010 1:28 am
Location - Dubai
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 31 guests