Post by Dutch Pride Code » Fri Jun 25, 2021 5:28 pm

This is my first attempt to change anything small in OpenCart. Just started learning PHP so I am an absolute beginner. What I am trying to do is add a new form field to the Product Edit page, to store data about the product. Maybe not the right way to do this but any help is appreciated. I copied the "Location" field as this has all the properties I need: No front-end functionality, only stores input in database. Here's what I did so far:

OC 3.0.3.7 - Default theme - No modifications

IN admin / view / template / catalog / product_form.twig
ADD - line 145

Code: Select all

<div class="form-group">
  <label class="col-sm-2 control-label" for="input-supplier">{{ entry_supplier }}</label>
  <div class="col-sm-10">
    <input type="text" name="supplier" value="{{ supplier }}" placeholder="{{ entry_supplier }}" id="input-supplier" class="form-control"/>
  </div>
</div>
IN admin / model / catalog / product.php
ADD - line 4 + line 143

"', supplier = '" . $this->db->escape($data['supplier']) . 
IN admin / language / en-gb / catalog / product.php
ADD - Line 112

$_['entry_supplier']         = 'Supplier';
IN admin / controller / catalog / product.php
ADD - Line 652 - What is wrong with this?

if (isset($this->request->post['location'])) {
			$data['location'] = $this->request->post['location'];
		} elseif (!empty($product_info)) {
			$data['location'] = $product_info['location'];
		} else {
			$data['location'] = '';
		}

Post by straightlight » Fri Jun 25, 2021 5:29 pm

What is wrong with this?
An event hasn't been created.

Dedication and passion goes to those who are able to push and merge a project.

Regards,
Straightlight
Programmer / Opencart Tester

Legendary Member

Location - Canada, ON

Post by Dutch Pride Code » Fri Jun 25, 2021 5:36 pm

straightlight wrote:
Fri Jun 25, 2021 5:29 pm
What is wrong with this?
Thanks. Can I find an example of the events of other product fields somewhere? ???