Post by ian_shifts » Fri Mar 05, 2021 9:29 am

I installed my store into a folder within the public html . now I type in my domain name and it always shows


:bang: >:(
I was thinking of having many sites on my server so put it in a folder to keep things organised.
All I want is all browsers to just show my domain not the folder
I don't think it looks very pro showing the folder in the address bar after the web address I need some pointers as I can't find the right desriptive words to create a search term.
can anyone get me out of this badness?
kind regards O0

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Thu Jan 10, 2019 1:47 am

Post by pprmkr » Fri Mar 05, 2021 4:44 pm

Create an landing page in public_html
Copy code and save as index.php. After editing the titles and url's, upload to folder public_html

Code: Select all

<!DOCTYPE html>
<!--[if IE]><![endif]-->
<!--[if IE 8 ]><html dir="lr" lang="nl" class="ie8"><![endif]-->
<!--[if IE 9 ]><html dir="lr" lang="nl" class="ie9"><![endif]-->
<!--[if (gt IE 9)|!(IE)]><!-->
<html dir="lr" lang="nl">
<!--<![endif]-->
<head>
<!-- Meta Data -->
<meta name="viewport" content="width=device-width, initial-scale=1">
<meta http-equiv="Pragma" content="no-cache" />
<meta http-equiv="content-type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1" />
<meta name="description" content="" />
<meta name="keywords" content="" />
<meta name="author" content="Roelie @ PprMkr" />
<base href="//" />
<title>Summary</title>
<script src="https://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/3.3.1/jquery.min.js"></script>
<link href="https://stackpath.bootstrapcdn.com/bootstrap/4.3.1/css/bootstrap.min.css" rel="stylesheet" integrity="sha384-ggOyR0iXCbMQv3Xipma34MD+dH/1fQ784/j6cY/iJTQUOhcWr7x9JvoRxT2MZw1T" crossorigin="anonymous">

<script type="text/javascript"><!--
    $(document).ready(function(){
 
        $(window).scroll(function(){
            if ($(this).scrollTop() > 100) {
                $('.scrollup').fadeIn();
            } else {
                $('.scrollup').fadeOut();
            }
        });
 
        $('.scrollup').click(function(){
            $("html, body").animate({ scrollTop: 0 }, 600);
            return false;
        });
 
    });
//--></script>


</head>
<body>

<header>
  <div class="container">
    <div id="logo">
      <img src="My_logo" alt="My domain" border="0">
    </div>
  </div>
</header> 
  <div class="container">
    <div class="row">
      <div id="content" class="col-sm-12">
 	    <h1>Overview on MY_DOMAIN</h1>
          <p>
            <ol>
              <li>First website title : <a href="//URL_TO_WEBSITE" title="TITLE_OF_WEBSITE" target="_blank"> View</a></li>
              <li>Second website title : <a href="//URL_TO_WEBSITE" title="TITLE_OF_WEBSITE" target="_blank"> View</a></li>
              <li>Third website title : <a href="//URL_TO_WEBSITE" title="TITLE_OF_WEBSITE" target="_blank"> View</a></li>
              <li>Fourth website title : <a href="//URL_TO_WEBSITE" title="TITLE_OF_WEBSITE" target="_blank"> View</a></li>
            </ol>
          </p>
 	      <hr>
          <p><i class="fa fa-copyright"></i> Roelie @ PprMkr</p>
      </div>
    </div>
  </div>
<div class="scrollup"><a href="javascript:scroll_up()" title="Scroll"><i class="fa fa-arrow-up"></i></a></div>
</body></html>

User avatar
Active Member
Online

Posts

Joined
Sat Jan 08, 2011 11:05 pm
Location - Netherlands

Post by paulfeakins » Fri Mar 05, 2021 5:40 pm

pprmkr wrote:
Fri Mar 05, 2021 4:44 pm
Create an landing page in public_html
Copy code and save as index.php. After editing the titles and url's, upload to folder public_html
What on earth are you talking about, you've totally misunderstood the question.

UK OpenCart Hosting | OpenCart Audits | OpenCart Support - please email info@antropy.co.uk


User avatar
Guru Member
Online

Posts

Joined
Mon Aug 22, 2011 11:01 pm
Location - London Gatwick, United Kingdom

Post by paulfeakins » Fri Mar 05, 2021 5:41 pm

ian_shifts wrote:
Fri Mar 05, 2021 9:29 am
All I want is all browsers to just show my domain not the folder
Move all the files out of the folder and then edit to remove the /opencart/ bit:
/public_html/config.php
/public_html/admin/config.php

UK OpenCart Hosting | OpenCart Audits | OpenCart Support - please email info@antropy.co.uk


User avatar
Guru Member
Online

Posts

Joined
Mon Aug 22, 2011 11:01 pm
Location - London Gatwick, United Kingdom

Post by khnaz35 » Fri Mar 05, 2021 6:33 pm

ian_shifts wrote:
Fri Mar 05, 2021 9:29 am
I installed my store into a folder within the public html . now I type in my domain name and it always shows


:bang: >:(
Have you change your config.php and admin config.php for the folder inside public_html?

Urgent Questions shoot here: khnaz35@gmail.com
Enjoy nature ;) :) :-*


User avatar
Active Member

Posts

Joined
Mon Aug 27, 2018 11:30 pm
Location - Malaysia

Post by ian_shifts » Sat Mar 06, 2021 1:04 am

Holy quninola!
I'm bamboozled by many replies.

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Thu Jan 10, 2019 1:47 am

Post by ian_shifts » Sat Mar 06, 2021 1:09 am

paulfeakins wrote:
Fri Mar 05, 2021 5:41 pm
Move all the files out of the folder and then edit to remove the /opencart/ bit:
/public_html/config.php
/public_html/admin/config.php
Hey guys thanks for reading my question and replying!
Hey Paul
I would rather keep the cart inside the folder due to organization issues. (I like to keep my socks and pants in different drawers) Is this not the correct protocol?
What if I want to install another softwere for example wordpress blog?
So do I have to remove the whole contents of the folder to the root?
or some is there (my preferred solution) some jiggery pokery with config files I can do?
kindest regards
O0

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Thu Jan 10, 2019 1:47 am

Post by ian_shifts » Sat Mar 06, 2021 1:10 am

khnaz35 wrote:
Fri Mar 05, 2021 6:33 pm
Have you change your config.php and admin config.php for the folder inside public_html?

I've not tried this yet I shall do this now see what happens
regards O0

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Thu Jan 10, 2019 1:47 am

Post by mikeinterserv » Sat Mar 06, 2021 1:12 am

You can do that with DNS in your hosting control panel
You have to point the domain to the subfolder.
You could do it with htaccess also if you really had to
then you will see
www.mydomain.com - and will be the contents of your subfolder store

Active Member

Posts

Joined
Thu May 28, 2020 6:55 am
Location - Wales

Post by paulfeakins » Mon Mar 08, 2021 7:37 pm

ian_shifts wrote:
Sat Mar 06, 2021 1:09 am
I would rather keep the cart inside the folder due to organization issues. (I like to keep my socks and pants in different drawers) Is this not the correct protocol?
No.

ian_shifts wrote:
Sat Mar 06, 2021 1:09 am
What if I want to install another softwere for example wordpress blog?
The put that software in a folder called /blog so it appears at the URL /blog. But if you want OC to appear at / then it should be in public_html.

ian_shifts wrote:
Sat Mar 06, 2021 1:09 am
So do I have to remove the whole contents of the folder to the root?
Yes.

ian_shifts wrote:
Sat Mar 06, 2021 1:09 am
or some is there (my preferred solution) some jiggery pokery with config files I can do?
It would be possible but you shouldn't do it.

UK OpenCart Hosting | OpenCart Audits | OpenCart Support - please email info@antropy.co.uk


User avatar
Guru Member
Online

Posts

Joined
Mon Aug 22, 2011 11:01 pm
Location - London Gatwick, United Kingdom

Post by ian_shifts » Thu Mar 11, 2021 4:46 am

Thank you Paul for your explanation breakdown.
I moved it to the root. and everything working schweet. (after I flushed the cache)
I now have increased knowledge on such matters. Get yourself a beer son. O0

Newbie

Posts

Joined
Thu Jan 10, 2019 1:47 am
Who is online

Users browsing this forum: nonnedelectari and 404 guests